Catie, my long time shooting partner for LTK episodes and very excellent friend, is a vegetarian. Which means she doesn’t eat marshmallows because they are made with gelatin, which comes from animals. I make a point to buy the most responsible and sustainable gelatin that I can find, which she appreciates. But she still won’t eat it. Because even though my gelatin comes from grass-fed cows, it still comes from cows.
I recently made marshmallows that I could eat and they were DELICIOUS. I even took them to the streets, gave them to strangers and gave some kids their first ever marshmallow, and that was was incredible. So, I really wanted to make a marshmallow that she could eat. I wanted her to feel and be included in our general awesome marshmallow experience.
But alas, I failed.
Want to learn from my mistakes? (Of course you do) Watch the video! And if you like it, please share the wisdom of how not to make vegan marshmallows.
- 9 Tbs agar flakes
- 2½ cups of water
- 1 cup liquid sweetener of your choice
- pinch of salt
- I cannot say this strongly enough.
- Don't do it.
love.laugh.eat. (but don’t eat these)
Follow me on the twitter, facebook, pinterest, youtube, instagram and if you never want to miss an episode, get on the mailing list!
Filed in: Desserts